Palm Springs

Our first civilian meal coming back from Iraq was at the Outback Steakhouse in Palm Springs.  

Palm Springs itself seemed to me a little like Sugarland but in the desert.  Maybe with more old people.  

I’m sure it was swinging in the 60’s.  Is this your wife’s kind of place?  What were the other suggestions?  Sun City?  Branson?

Hang out at the pool, play some golf, grab a family pic in front of the giant Marilyn Monroe statue, drink some cold beers and margaritas. 

Joshua Tree one of the days most definitely. Big time rock climbing spot but your kids will enjoy climbing around on the boulders. 

I was out there last weekend, and I've been there a ton over the last 35 years or so, some for business, mostly for pleasure. 

PS was a super-cool place in the 50's and 60's.  The architecture was/is amazing, and just about anyone who was anyone in hollywood had a PS pad.  

When I was an bank Asset Manager, I had THIS https://www.dezeen.com/2018/02/21/john-lautner-arthur-elrod-house-concrete-dome-palm-springs-modernism-week/

in my REO portfolio.   It, like much of PS, was in disrepair.  Located in the same neighborhood as Bob Hope's pad, and Steve McQueen's.  It was a shithole, and I sold it at a fire-sale price.  I'm thrilled to see that the restoration is so well done.

About that time, the gays moved in.  Lots of 'em.  And man, did they clean the place up and make it cool again.  I spoke to a prominent broker out there, in about '95.  I said to him "tell me about the market".  He replied, "this is the gay 90's.  Everybody in town is either gay or 90.

So, it became the ultra-cool place to be for about 25 years or so.  Great restaurants, bars, nightclubs, galleries, and shops.