305cc B&S small engine issues

I've got a Hobart Champion 145 pull start engine welder with fewer than 60 hours on it that seems to be experiencing fuel flow issues. 

The unit wants to 'gallop'. It doesn't maintain a stable idle and will sometimes bog down all the way to choking out and stopping. 
It's unpredictable. It will run fine and purr for a minute, then sputter unreliably the next. Placing it under load seems to exacerbate the problem. 

History on the machine :  previous owner ran about two tanks of gas (14-16 hours) through it and that was it. I put probably 50 hours on it and the 
machine ran with no problems whatsoever. I'm an active welder, there has never been a tank of gas that has sat longer than a week in it. Then it was
like one day it just didn't run right. I've run Seafoam, B12, and VP 4 cycle engine fuel through it. The VP was suggested by a mechanic who told me to run the
machine for a few minutes and then kill it, allowing the VP to stay in the lines for a day or so.. then repeat the process. I've done this and the machine still
doesn't run right. 

I'm perfectly ready to join the University of YouTube and try to teach myself how to fix this but I thought I'd ask teh surl for suggestions first. I need this machine to run.

1 hour ago, Jerry Callo said:

Don't want to be simple, but since you've been focused on the fuel side, have you checked the air filter?

Simple is always good. First thing I did when it started acting up was check oil level and the air filter. Oil in on par, clean, and the machine has a shutdown mode if it gets too low anyways. Pulled the air filter and although it looked pretty clean I hit it with some compressed air anyways. Machine's mostly been used in a clean, concrete floor shop, and very little dust came out of the filer.