RIP Johnny Majors

msucolt45

Coach Majors passed away today at the age of 85. Tennessee native that played for the Vols in the mid-50’s, then went into coaching.

After winning the National Championship with Pittsburgh (77), he came home to coach the Vols for almost two decades.

He ended up going back to Pittsburgh as a coach, then administrator for many more years.

My Father coached four high school players that played for Coach Majors at Tennessee. During the ‘85 season, they won the SEC and Sugar Bowl (vs. Miami). 3 of my Dad’s 4 players were in that team. He seemed like a “great man” while I was a youngster - RIP Coach Majors!

10 hours ago, markstanco said:
10 hours ago, ISUCyclones said:
Wish Iowa state could have held onto him longer

With a quick wiki search, he went to pitt from ISU. Back in that time that was an upgrade. Weird how times change. A pitt coach would go to ISU in a minute today.

Yes, and no. Pitt was on the verge of dropping down to 1-AA or completely dropping football. Today I don't think that is accurate. Of course Matt Campbell started out at Pitt and had a horrible freshman year, 1998, under Walt Harris and transferred to Mount Union.

Despite a great history Pitt continues to find ways to screw up things. It started when Jock Sutherland quit to protest the school taking away stipends and scholarship money. All while keeping a terribly difficult national schedule. Pitt was talked about to replace University of Chicago in 1939 in the Fat 10 but didn't.

There has forever been a battle between academics and athletics and when football gets too good then academics swoops in and smacks it down.

Edited by PittsburghTiger

Here are a couple posts I put on the Pitt message board.

---------------------------------------------------------------

Rest In Peace Coach Majors