Billy Joel

retread

I've told the story before, but that's never stopped me from telling a story again.  I was a sophomore at UT, living in Jester, and a kid I barely knew told me he had tickets for Billy Joel at the Erwin Center that night, and that his date had fallen through, so he thought I might want to go.  After verifying that I wasn't going to be his date, I said "OK", but was pretty skeptical, because at that time I really wasn't a fan.  I was much more into AOR rock and punk & new wave at that point.

Seats were 7th row floor, just left of center.  I was stunned at how good the show was.  It was just this onslaught of hits, songs I knew extremely well from radio, but had never really assembled as a "catalog" in my mind.  I mean, I knew they were all Billy Joel, but until you've seen him perform for a couple of hours and are literally bombarded with such a long string of extraordinarily well-crafted tunes, well, you can't really quite get it.  

I ended up going to see him several more times over the next decade.  I probably should have gone to one of the Elton + Billy tours, as I'm a huge fan of Elton John, but life intruded and I just never got around to it.

• Like 5

28 minutes ago, jimmyjazz said:

I ended up going to see him several more times over the next decade.  I probably should have gone to one of the Elton + Billy tours, as I'm a huge fan of Elton John, but life intruded and I just never got around to it.

Been to two.  Great show, but Billy outdid Elton in both (and I'm a EJ fan, and Elton himself put on an outstanding show).  Billy is a performer.

• Like 1

Been a fan since hearing My Life on the radio back in ‘77/78? Have seen him about a dozen times, once with EJ, fantastic show.  Last time was back in 2014 @ MSG, kick myself for not going once every year during his “Residency”.  

1) My Life- song that got me hooked

2) Vienna - beautiful song

3) River of Dreams - Great Live when they do a medley between chorus