Texas teacher pay raise.

Nolacycling

"Sometimes I work spring break. I work Christmas break. I work Thanksgiving break. I work summer break. I don't get to spend much time with my family," Caldwell said. "I have a bachelor's degree and master's and I still make not much more than a general manager at McDonald's."

I get paid for 40 hours a week despite the fact that I can work 60 or 70 hours, including weekends and long stretches of travel. I knew the deal when I took the job, and if it doesn’t suit me, I am free to find another one. Being an adult is hard.Teachers are a step above SAHMs when bitching about this kind of thing.

• Like 3
  • Fuck You 22

I feel like I am missing something on teaching. In my friend group of late twentysomethings, the only people who consistently complain about their job are the teachers. The complaints are 1) not paid enough, 2) work outside of school, 3) dealing with parents (this would suck and probably worth of complaining about), and 4) standardized testing, need to meet a benchmark.

None of these are unique to teaching. Most people feel underpaid, and when you become a teacher, you know what the salary is. Most people work more than 40 hours in a week. Most people have to deal with unhappy people although parents probably take it to another level. Most people have metrics to meet, or some reprimand is inevitable. All I know is having a frikin summer break would be nice.

I don't know when the last time teachers got a pay bump though so if the state can afford it, then do it. 

• Like 3

6 minutes ago, Nolacycling said:

So you're against it? 5k

Tell your wife to get a job, so she knows how miserable you are.