The Hunt for Red October

22 minutes ago, BornOrange said:

My mom gave me the paperback as a stocking-stuffer one Christmas back in the 80's.

Great book and great movie.

Stuffed your mom's stocking one Christmas in the 80's, so this hits close to home. 

• Like 2

1 hour ago, billfromlaketravis said:

One of my favorite books. Probably read it 10 times. The movie is a different story. At least 100 times. 

Way back in the '80s, I worked as a night computer operator, alone in the building with lots of down time on my hands.  I found this book, and was mesmerized by the technology he was describing on those subs, had no idea of the capabilities of these things. Couldn't put it down.

Movie came out and I was initially disappointed.  Upon several rewatches though have come to appreciate it for a great movie.

I had a fif grade assignment to make a diarama (sp?) so I chose a 1000 page book by Clancy.   I watched October and used my GI Joe’s to build a crazy fight scene with cotton balls for smoke.  It was cool and I got an A.  

• Hook 'Em 3
  • Like 2
  • Drool 1

8 hours ago, Upgrayedd said:

Book was much better.  I wish they would have played it more towards the surface ship/action/tension.  

Books are always better though.

Sure books are better.  You’ve got unending time to read plot and character development, details and exposition, etc.  You can imagine characters and settings in your own mind  

You've got prox 120 minutes for a film.  Can’t jam it all in that time frame.  

23 minutes ago, Captain Ron said:

Alec Baldwin is the best portrayal of Jack Ryan of all of them. Fight me.

Why? Jack Ryan is a reluctant hero. That certainly isn’t Harrison Ford. The rest, meh. 

Mid 80s Harrison Ford would've been an incredible Jack Ryan. Doppy 90s Harrison Ford who was cashing checks couldn't hold a candle to Alec Baldwin's portrayal.

• Like 3

26 minutes ago, deadshank said: