Pork Belly

Baboontyme

I picked one up at RD to smoke next week up at the lake. No, drunk guy is not invited.

I've never done one before. S&P and cook until ?? Other suggestions? Make some kind of crazy Vietnamese sandwich out of it, serve with garnish and tell everyone I invented it? Halp.

I've done a couple of belly's recently as I was getting bored (blasphemy, I know!) with brisket.  Take off the skin and make cracklings.  Treat the rest of the belly just like you would a brisket.  For me, that means cracked pepper and kosher salt over smoke.  I usually wrap in butcher paper after 3 or 4 hours and finish in a low oven until everything is rendered.  Rest (or even better, let it cool overnight in refrigerator) before you cut (against the grain!) and re-heat before serving. Enjoy!

Edited by DalTxHornFan
  • Like 1

thomas keller's pork belly confit is the most laborious version of it i've done.  also the most rewarding.

http://ladyandpups.com/2013/05/20/creme-brulee-d-pork-belly-confit-eng/

most of the time, i do a philipino adobo, which more or less is braising the thing in soy sauce and vinegar.  good to add a shelled egg to it as well to make it like chinese claypot style.

in lazier times i just boil the motherfucker until it turns pale.  which is really quickly.  then slice and serve by itself or with your choice of sauce (sriracha, whatever).  i think thats done in vietnamese cooking.

if you want the classic crispy skin roast version, you almost dont have to prep it at all.  unless you get a slab (rather than strips), then you want to score the fat so it doesnt curl.  then roast it for longer than you think.  its sorta like a brisket - it gets done first, and then the fat renders and makes it more tender.  if you take it out of oven too soon its just touch and chewy.

• Like 1

On 7/14/2018 at 5:14 PM, 52-80 said: