The Maritime Nightmare Thread

TrashMaster G

The universe has a way of getting even and these whales are gonna settle some scores.

I’m no whale expert but I’m pretty confident in this.  Unless someone has a way to train them to stop, they’ll keep doing this until they’re killed.  The question is - when do sailboat guys become more important than whales have a right to live guys?

5 hours ago, CoTex said:

The universe has a way of getting even and these whales are gonna settle some scores.

I’m no whale expert but I’m pretty confident in this.  Unless someone has a way to train them to stop, they’ll keep doing this until they’re killed.  The question is - when do sailboat guys become more important than whales have a right to live guys?

Damnit, you just revived SeaWorld. Mobile Orca training. 

received-465478466152753.jpg

received-1111707100052875.jpg

received-429230989738421.jpg

6 hours ago, HOOKEM4 said:

@G650 Has the craziest maritime story I have heard.

Man I still get the willies thinking about it.

I definitely worry about the container thing @Crapinon mentioned though, those goddamn things are everywhere these days.

This shouldn't be in lulz btw!

• Rage+1 1

2 hours ago, Biff Tannen said:

The Andrea Doria collided with the Stockholm in dense fog 21 miles off the coast of Nantucket.

and it eased into the water like an old man into a hot bath

• Fuck You 1

I used to sail quite a bit. Was once helping a friend take a 23ft Hunter to Isla Mujers from Corpus and 2 days out in the gulf in some fairly decent swells we almost landed directly on a pair of sleeping pilot whales that looked close to the size of the boat. (Probably 15 ft or so, but still looked huge in a small boat.) Scared the shit out of me! I’ve seen a couple of semi submerged cargo containers from a distance and wondered what was in them. A new Ferrari or a bunch of illegal Chinese workers?

6 minutes ago, GoPokes83 said: