Lien on house

kmac30

Bought a house and have a contractor handling the remodel. We’re currently not living in the house (in our old house still). Cabinet guy goes off on his own and installs built-ins that look nothing like the picture my wife gave the contractor. Contractor says “Hey, those look nothing like the picture.” Cabinet guy tells him “I spoke to her, these are what she wants.” They weren’t. She wanted the picture.

Contractor and cabinet guy get in argument. Contractor pays cabinet guy for new material and they rebuild. Some other bullshit ensues and cabinet guy walks off job. Contractor tells him that if he leaves the job he’s not getting paid.

I have no knowledge of any of this, except the guy built wrong cabinets and had to redo them and that he quit. Last week my wife calls while I’m at work saying we got a certified letter in the mail. Guy is putting a lien on our house for unpaid work. Sends us the invoices. Invoices are billed to the construction company, not me. Builder says he has no grounds because his beef is with builder and not me. I haven’t written cabinet guy any checks and I have no contract with cabinet guy. Is the contractor right?

tldr; cabinet guy and contractor tiff, cabinet guy putting lien on my house, contractor says don’t worry. Should I?

Similar thing happened to my parents many years ago.  Wrong granite installed and finished with the wrong edge.  The guy was adamant he did exactly what he was told to do but it was pretty clear from the notes and docs that he had screwed up. Best guess was he mixed up two orders.

They expected their contractor to take care of it because he did all the hiring and communication with all the subs, including this guy.   But he just said “sorry, sometimes things like this happen” and moved on.  

It was a relatively small total so they decided to settle with the granite guy and get the lien lifted so they could move in and so forth.