Moab / Arches

Brew

Anyone been to Moab and the surrounding area? I have to be in Park City for 3 days in July and I’m thinking about going out a couple of days early and going over to Moab and the Arches. If you have been, did you rent a Jeep and go off by yourself or did you take the guided tours? I’m not real interested in going out in a group, but I’m also not interested in rolling a Jeep somewhere either. I’ve got plenty of off road experience, but don’t know if there are enough easy loops/site seeing trails to do by ourself and keep our interest for a day or two without getting stupid. I’ve also looked at the UTV rentals but prefer the Jeep option.

i'm planning a road trip and have it going through moab but was not planning on stopping anywhere in utah.  you can drive straight through utah in 7 hrs, and when you have to make a lot of tracks to minimize vacation days, some things got to get passed up.   i have been to bryce and zion and they are beautiful parks but not needing to go again.  i might do capitol reef on the way back, but not sure yet.

I spent a week in Moab a few years ago. Arches was my favorite of the national parks. We did mostly hiking, however, so couldn't tell you about the jeep.

But delicate arch, park avenue, and fiery furnace hikes were great. Also, about an hour from there is Little Wild Horse slot canyon and Valley of the Goblins.

ba626a055b1943a7edafa3abfd104d20.jpga4b0c695dd3d1aa3b49ecf94ce979cff.jpg

Absolutely one of the coolest places in the U.S. Take a guided hiking tour of the fiery furnace if you can. You must go with either a Park Ranger or a tour company. Canyonlands is also a great park. There's also a nice brewpub restaurant in the center of town. It's also a very pretty little town if you have the time to walk around.

33 minutes ago, msbesq said: