22 Billion here, 22 billion there ... the USS Zumwalts are "a failed concept"

The Zumwalt always looked like a step too far in design trying to accommodate a step behind in utility. 

I love the surface navy, but  think we really need to rethink what kind of navy best fits the future. I just read that the Zumwalt's gun system required shells that cost $800K each and provided less punch and accuracy than the slightly more expensive cruise missile.

I don't know what that future navy should look like. Maybe there should be numerous small, fairly cheap platforms for drones. I stumbled upon a Massachusetts Maritime Academy magazine that included an article about a remote control system for seagoing vessels. It's fairly advanced in testing with a small vessel in the Baltic Sea.

I don't think we need to be spending so much money on carrier groups, but that's another discussion.

• Hook 'Em 2

I was a contractor working on Navy communications systems when the LCS and DD21 (Zumwalt class) programs where in the requirements, design and build phases.

There were questions back then about trying to do too much with these platforms.  The LCS in particular was designed like a Swiss army knife with all the attachments you rarely used making it harder to do the things you needed more often.  Bulky Swiss army knives are shitty to use as a knife.

I get the need to retire the older ships but some of the revolutionary work cost more and breaks more than the evolutionary designs.  It just seems like saving the revolutionary work for things like propulsion, communications, radars, missiles, and other attack/defense systems has a higher success rate and ROI than the hull and platform changes.