Computer science

Don’t know if this should go here but,

My brother is graduating from high school soon and knows he wants to pursue a degree in computer science but doesn’t know which route to go. I’ve been researching with him and there’s so many things you can do. I have no idea what they do since I’m not tech savvy. What’s the best route he should go? Cyber security, information systems, engineering, etc...

Which one will he be able to find a job quickly after graduation and of course what’s the best pay?

Guess it depends what interests him, and maybe he doesn’t know yet. I do systems engineering but would hate software development (coding)

He should probably take a few intro classes first and see which field interests him the most. Who cares if one field pays a shitload if you absolutely hate the work.

As far as finding jobs , most IT fields are pretty good so don’t think that would be a problem either way . I’d think software development would be the most common as most major companies have quite a few developers.

I know there are plenty of websites that will show you salary ranges for different positions

Distributed systems, blockchain, and modern functional languages will get him paid handsomely.  

If he’s got the stomach for it, tell him to grabs some stats classes or if the school he’s going to attend will allow him to, specialize in Machine/Deep learning.   Data scientists make 90k+ straight out of schools these days.

I hire a ton of these types and it’s super hard to find anyone that’s good at it/not self trained.  

I would recommend a more general focus CS program than something specifically focusing on information systems or data science or something.

You need to learn all the theory and basics to give you a good foundation for the continuous learning you need to do to stay relevant in whatever sub fields there are.