Sheetrock Taping & Finishing

dad

I've decided to finish the garage walls. The tape was coming off in most places so i've pulled that down. I have the tape, mud, pan, masks,  bucket, sponge, drywall knives. I need to buy a pole sander attachment. I've never done this before but I think i need to sand down the existing dry mud from the previous installation first to start with a smooth even finish. Then i'll apply the mud and tape and sand and do it over again a million times. I've watched a few youtube videos. It'll be tedious but not rocket science. I just want general advice, do-s and don'ts. Like I have questions about how to make sure you stay straight when applying a super long tape to the ceiling. Do I need to fill in the larger holes like in the corners with something else? Why did they use like 4 layers of tape in an L shape in the corners instead of filling in the corners with some compound first so there is no weak points... 

learn me...

43 minutes ago, Coyote said:

Hire it out for $500. It'll be done in a day.

One day if you aren't finishing.  3-5 if you are going to finish the walls (gotta let the compound dry between coats).

4 minutes ago, HOOKEM4 said:

Don't listen to this guy. This has all the makings of an epic meltdown thread. Definitely try to do it yourself.

^This

Make sure you get stilts.

• Like 1

Use the fiber tape.  It sticks on the drywall before the mud goes on.  Much easier than paper tape

And really no reason to sand the finished product.  A wet sponge smooths it just fine. 

Edited by Gil Bang
  • Like 1

Watching the pros skim the mud, apply the tape, skim it again to get the excess, slam the excess into their pan, apply more here, skim it again, slam it again, apply more there, skim it again, slam it again, etc, etc.  Fucking magical. 

Spoiler