how do I vote for judges? I don't know shit about these candidates.

Gil Bang

We've batted this subject around here a bit before, but here it is for real. 

My mail-in ballot has a dozen judges up for election.  I'm liberal in general, and I'm SUPER FUCKING LIBERAL when it comes to judges.  I want people that give a fuck about rights, and will not sign bullshit no-knock warrants.  I'm voting 100% Dem on this ballot, for the first time ever.  The judge candidates do not identify by party. 

I'm thinking I should call the San Diego Dem HQ and ask for guidance.  Anybody got a better idea?

7 hours ago, elfenix said:

find the league of women voters guide and don't vote for anyone who didn't bother answering

Correct.

1 hour ago, Bookman said:

I've been a lawyer for 15 years. I've seen some excellent judges lose, and some very bad judges win, because they got lucky in riding the partisan wave.

True dat.

I've been a lawyer for 15 years. I've seen some excellent judges lose, and some very bad judges win, because they got lucky in riding the partisan wave.

Especially in the smaller areas. There are a couple around here that have run unopposed since the 90's.

Or name recognition.  Can't remember who it was anymore but a couple years ago one judge got elected just because he had the same name as a well-known legislator.

2 hours ago, Judge Roybeanbag said:

Or name recognition.  Can't remember who it was anymore but a couple years ago one judge got elected just because he had the same name as a well-known legislator.

the long-time JP of a western harris county precinct was long time UH football coach bill yeoman's son, also named bill yeoman.  a lot of people thought they were voting for coach.

Edited by elfenix