Wall Street Journal now censoring reader comments to articles

GHOSTUSER

I have a subscription to both the NYT and WSJ. They’re both good newspapers with different philosophies and world views (No CR) and I read both because I mainly read op-Eds and want both perspectives. I prefer the WSJ because it hews closer to my beliefs; however, I really like it more because you could comment on every article. The WSJ reader comments were a gold mine with some really funny, intelligent posts and lots of sarcasm by people I identify with - namely highly intelligent, conservative (No CR) professionals. Lots of funny digs at the President, current political figures, etc. I have always thought the most liked commentary represented the silent majority in this country or really the the segment of the population that really matters the most.

Well, they have changed things yesterday. They are flagging and censoring comments and are not allowing any comments at all on lots of articles. This is the letter I received from them yesterday:

Elevating Our Discourse

Dear Iconoclast Texan, 

Our readers like active engagement with the news. We have heard from you that you strongly desire a place to read a variety of audience perspectives, that you want posts that are thoughtful and, also, that you would like an environment in which you feel comfortable to share your own insights. In interviews and surveys of our membership and the broader public, people say they would like to contribute to audience conversations on our web site but that they have, over time, become turned off by the growing toxicity that is rampant all over the Internet.