Matt Rife

Dennis Taylor

i've been enjoying him for several months now...very little prepared material, he's almost all back and forth with the audience (like this clip) which is unusual and really fun to watch, you never know where it's going to go. i tried getting tickets to his Denver shows next spring - they added like 3 additional shows bc the first one sold out so fast! but they all sold out instantly too, and i'm not paying hundreds for a comedian 😒 anyway, i've seen some interviews and he actually seems like a genuinely nice guy, he just looks like a fratboy douche 😄 (which he acknowledges himself lol).

1 hour ago, EvilCaseMcCoy said:

How does that compare with Nate Bargatze? 

Please tell Me you’re not comparing Bargatze and Rife because they’re both about the same age, doing well right now, and lived in Nashville?  

rife is funny, has some whispers of the crowd work chops Of Big Jay, and his polished conventional set is getting better by the month.  But BarGatze is a completely different kind of comic.  Far more insightful, hilarious, and unintentional.  

He reminds me a lot of Louis CK before Louis got angrier and creepier.  Nate could become more boisterous, offensive, and use loud taglines tomorrow and he’d be one of the five biggest comics in the business right now.  His material, storytelling, delivery, and restrained stage presence are already that.  He opts not to be a showman entertainer.  Easily one Of my ten favorites working today.  And a helluva nice guy.