Looking for work in NYC

I suppose this is a Hail Mary attempt.

I graduated last May from UT Austin and I just hit the 1 year mark doing investment banking in NYC and I am desperate to leave my shop. I have been applying to jobs for weeks on end and it hasn’t gone anywhere and it’s gotten to the point where I figured reaching out here may help. If there’s any Longhorns in NYC looking for a kid who was scrappy enough to break into IB but not dumb enough to stay, please let me know. Any life advice is also appreciated im just at my wits end. 

40 minutes ago, Axle Hongsnort said:

Grinding a few years in IB will set up future résumé opportunities up for a life time. Get like 2 years and slide into private equity.

You’re not wrong. This jobs just so fucking exhausting man. Just one of those late nights in the office where I go a little existential. 

Edited by Leverage

43 minutes ago, Axle Hongsnort said:

Grinding a few years in IB will set up future résumé opportunities up for a life time. Get like 2 years and slide into private equity.

Agree with this.  Think hard about keeping on riding the dragon as long as you possibly can.  The stripes that you'll earn in the process will pay off over the course of your career.

13 hours ago, Leverage said:

I suppose this is a Hail Mary attempt.

I graduated last May from UT Austin and I just hit the 1 year mark doing investment banking in NYC and I am desperate to leave my shop. I have been applying to jobs for weeks on end and it hasn’t gone anywhere and it’s gotten to the point where I figured reaching out here may help. If there’s any Longhorns in NYC looking for a kid who was scrappy enough to break into IB but not dumb enough to stay, please let me know. Any life advice is also appreciated im just at my wits end. 

subject-verb agreement error on sentence #4.  pls fix.  thnx

• Like 1
  • Haha 4