Refi CC debt

ztejas

I have about $6.5k on a cc balance with WF that I am trying to pay off. Wondering if it would be worth it to try and refi outside of whatever ridiculous interest rate I am battling against them - but I've never done this before.

Probably paying off $500/mo right now - credit score around 650. 

Advice appreciated.

34 minutes ago, ztejas said:

I have about $6.5k on a cc balance with WF that I am trying to pay off. Wondering if it would be worth it to try and refi outside of whatever ridiculous interest rate I am battling against them - but I've never done this before.

Probably paying off $500/mo right now - credit score around 650. 

Advice appreciated.

Do you have a house you can take out a home equity loan on? If so, do it. If not, sell whatever you can to pay this off asap. Credit card debt is a death spiral for money.

• Hook 'Em 2

I don't think there are any/many "refi" options for $6500.  That would imply an unsecured consumer loan at a better rate for that amount, and that would be a unicorn.

Some people do home equity loans for that purpose, but it's secured and you have to have a home and equity in it.

What might work, though, is a balance-transfer offer on some card that will carry it at a more reasonable rate or even 0% for a timeframe in which  you can pay it off at about that amount. https://www.nerdwallet.com/balance-transfer-credit-cards

Edited by TwiceHorn
  • Hook 'Em 2

Just now, TwiceHorn said:

What might work, though, is a balance-transfer offer on some card that will carry it at a more reasonable rate for a timeframe in which  you can pay it off at about that amount.

Thanks. I'll look into that. 

3 minutes ago, Cheeseweasel said:

If not, sell whatever you can to pay this off asap. Credit card debt is a death spiral for money.

Yes. I'm fortunately ahead of the interest rate right now by about 4 factors. Atoning for some past sins at this point in my life.