I did a shitty thing and I felt bad

bernorange

I was reading though the various threads here about Santa Fe, mass shootings, etc. and thinking about the issues involved with the disenfranchised actors when I got to thinking about an incident in my past when I was in high school (many, many years ago). 

I had an AP Chemistry class with an outstanding teacher.  His tests were hard as shit.  You had to really understand the material to be able to apply it in problem solving.  This wasn't a memorize formulas and plug into calculator type of class.  Teacher did a great job explaining things.  He taught the class like a college course because that's what he really wanted to do (teach college).  I understand that a few years after I graduated, he did move to teaching at a college some where. 

Anyway, because it was a Chemistry class, teacher paired up everyone with a lab partner.  We didn't get a choice, he just assigned everyone in the class.  I got assigned this awkward ROTC kid that no one liked (social pariah).  He was .. different.  Anyway, I got teased quite a bit from my classmates and friends about being lab partners with this guy.  It felt really shitty.  The guy was actually fairly intelligent and a decent enough lab partner as far as conducting the experiments went, but being around him was a beating to the psyche/soul.

So, I talked to my teacher after class one day and asked if he could reassign me a new lab partner.  He asked me why I made the request.  I explained the situation and I'll never forget how he responded.  He shook his head with disdain and told me how disappointed he was with me.  I felt ashamed.  I did get a new lab partner, but I always felt shitty about how I ditched the first one.  He (ROTC kid) was obviously hurt when he found out I had requested a new lab partner.

I am glad he didn't end up snapping and shooting me (et al.) back in the day.  He seemed to fit the modern profile for a high risk.

Edited by bernorange
tks Anastasis