Slavery

Horn_Spanker

I've been working on my genealogy for at least 20 years and have never found an ancestor to be a slave owner even though all my roots are southern, until today.

I was researching through a 1840 Baton Rouge newspaper and found the police report section stating they had picked up a black guy named Bob who said he belonged to Horn_Spanker's GGGG-grandfather, and for GGGG-grandfather to come pick him up.  There was a list of other held slaves to be picked up so it looked common for the police to do this.

The reason it struck me to post this is, GGGG-grandfather had immigrated from Germany just a few years earlier.  As far as I know, slavery was not a thing in early 1800s Germany.  What prompted him to buy slaves when his upbringing frowned on such practices?  Was he thinking back in Germany, "when I get to Louisiana, I'm gonna buy some slaves" or, when he got here he realized he needed them?  Maybe he was just an asshole?

17 minutes ago, Horn_Spanker said:

I've been working on my genealogy for at least 20 years and have never found an ancestor to be a slave owner even though all my roots are southern, until today.

I was researching through a 1840 Baton Rouge newspaper and found the police report section stating they had picked up a black guy named Bob who said he belonged to Horn_Spanker's GGGG-grandfather, and for GGGG-grandfather to come pick him up.  There was a list of other held slaves to be picked up so it looked common for the police to do this.

The reason it struck me to post this is, GGGG-grandfather had immigrated from Germany just a few years earlier.  As far as I know, slavery was not a thing in early 1800s Germany.  What prompted him to buy slaves when his upbringing frowned on such practices?  Was he thinking back in Germany, "when I get to Louisiana, I'm gonna buy some slaves" or, when he got here he realized he needed them?  Maybe he was just an asshole?

I call bullshit. Who names a slave Bob ?