NFLPA Calls for Natural Grass in all NFL Stadiums

Vic Mackey

2 minutes ago, Pam Cummings said:

I'm of the opinion that playing on grass is better. That said, i don't see how it is feasible.

When football players get injured, how about we attribute it to the fact that they are playing football instead of blaming grass.

Other than a true dome, how is not feasible?

Yes, the injuries are occurring because its a contact sport. Does not mean it cannot be made safer.

• Hook 'Em 1

Just now, Foosters said:

Other than a true dome, how is not feasible?

Yes, the injuries are occurring because its a contact sport. Does not mean it cannot be made safer.

First if all im not an expert about turf or grass or any of that. Just me thinking.

But, when an NFL game is played on a grass field, i would imagine there is a lot of damage done to the playing surface. And a lot of these places are hosting more than just NFL games, they have college and juco games as well as concerts and such.

So after you play a game, i guess my question would be how long does it take for the grass to re-grow and be manicured as such to where you can play another game on it? How much does weather affect this? I just feel like a week isn't enough time to get the field into playable condition again. There will be divots and holes, no? Is that not dangerous?

And you could resod, but it takes time for those roots to get in there. You'd have a really slippery surface every week if you did that. It was, IIRC, what players complained about in the super bowl.

And the Rodgers injury just didnt have anything to do with field surface imo. He got tackled in a weird way and his ankle planted in the wrong direction. I just dont see how the turf made a difference there.

• Hook 'Em 5

9 minutes ago, Pam Cummings said:

First if all im not an expert about turf or grass or any of that. Just me thinking.