Auto Service: What Would You Do?

For the record, I am not a mechanic.  I'll start this story off with some facts:

Dumb

1. Me
  2. I take my truck to a local Ford and/or Chevy dealer b/c I know the service manager
  3. Bought my truck with 75K on it, 3.5 years ago.  I've put 40k on it (Maths = 115k)
  4. I've  never had to do anything serious to my truck, ever
  5. Last service they suggested new spark plugs, transmission flush... I said no
  6. Been working a summer job (I'm a teacher), so I now have extra cash to take care of #5
  7. Take it to dealer... 

The saga... 

Take the truck to dealer for 1) oil change/service 2) Spark plugs 3) transmission flush.  They also suggested 4) coolant flush.  Total bill before coupon discount comes to $650.  I said to go ahead and do it, I have the cash to cover it.  This was last Thursday.  

Thursday

"Not done with truck.  Started late.  Here is a loaner."

Friday

T - "Coil #2 is going bad.  Want us to replace it?  Here is cost.  Gotta warn you, that when you change one, usually others go back pretty quickly.  Want us to do all for $900?"

M - "NO!  Just do the one."

T - "We were right.  Now #4 bad... Now #6 bad."

M - "FFS, just do them all."

T - "Not done with truck.  Here is a loaner.  It's the shittiest fucking car we have on the lot that is 1.5k overdue for oil change, and it is out of line.

Monday

Done - $1400 bill.  15 miles and check engine light comes on, and one of cylinders misfiring.  Take it back Tuesday.

Tuesday

T - "Got it fixed.  3rd cylinder was misfiring, so we changed the harness, blah, blah, blah.   Test drove it, and you should be good.

M - Drive it 3 miles and check engine light back on, however not misfiring.  Back to dealer Wednesday.

Wednesday

T - They are not done by 3:30 when I told them I needed it.  "We can't figure out what's up, and why the light is one.  We think it has to do with catalytic converter with new plugs/coils.  I think it will go away in a few days."