1997 Jarrell tornado, and others

futureman

first off, merry christmas everyone and god bless you all.  the family is asleep and I’m wired.

@Hagbard Celine had a good thread going on the shag and the topic of this storm has come up in another current thread here.  I have no real knowledge of the science surrounding tornadoes or these specific tornadoes in question, but I do find the topic interesting and hope that some learned doctors can lend some insight.

hagbard, knowing that you’ve searched extensively I’m fairly confident none of these are the video you have mentioned but they are worth viewing for anyone else. 

and a decent short documentary about the 1970 lubbock F5 tornado:

if anyone had experience with these and has stories to tell, please share. 

• Like 2

Thanks for sharing. I'm fascinated with weather in general, but specifically tornadoes. I grew up in Taylor and the day of the '97 Jarrell tornado we were packing up our house to move to DFW. I was 14 at the time and remember watching the coverage on TV. My grandpa grew up in Jarrell and lived in Cedar Park at that time about a mile from where the other one tore up the Albertson's. This storm is so fascinating on many levels.

• Like 1

You know how they show the aftermaths of all those tornadoes that hit in Kansas, etc, and they're searching through a bunch of collapsed buildings and rubble? I went out there to help pick through the wreckage for people. The thing is, there was no wreckage. Everything was gone. Down to the foundations. Toilets & bathtubs, vinyl flooring even, stripped right off the concrete. There was nothing left over about 3" from floor level. Asphalt stripped right off the ground, etc. It was surreal.

• Like 3