Dry January 2023

This is my first year not doing it in years.  Earlier this year, I started working some carbonated water and water in between beers to cut down a good deal.  Since that has worked out pretty well, I'm not going to worry about taking January off.  But good luck.

Edited by dcbc
  • Hook 'Em 1

I've never done dry January, but when we're in planting or harvesting season (totals about 3.5 months of the year) I rarely if ever drink (rain days, I suppose, but there aren't many of them).

I usually don't drink on weeknights either.  I lean on NA craft beer (big fan of Athletic) and sparkling water to fill the void.  They definitely tide any desire to drink while I'm at home.  The more I do it the more I find that desire to have a drink or two after work go away almost completely.  Drinking is something I do with my friends when I'm socializing anymore.

After 4 drinks my sleep is pretty significantly affected.  The older I get, the more I value a good sleep.  Tying one on is limited to situations where I'll get a recovery day these days.

Edited by Al_4_ISU
  • Hook 'Em 4

I think this is my 5th year. Really seems to have caught on more widely the last 2 years. My whole work lunch crew is doing it this year.

Primary point of course is to drop some weight. I was 9 lbs heavier at initial weigh-in this week than the weekend heading into Thanksgiving. Aside from all the calories you're cutting out, it's a lot easier to commit to exercising and eating healthier when you're never hungover and sleeping better. 

Second is to press reset on your relationship with booze after over-doing it for an extended period of time. For me, between Astros playoffs, football weekends, weather conducive to happy hours, company parties and extended breaks, it's way too easy to get in the habit of drinking more often than not October-December.