Remembering 9/11

Celery Man

I've stopped and started this thread a few times. Just, thinking about 9/11, and also thinking about where I keep seeing 9/11 symbology.

I was a sophomore, I remember exactly where I was and what happened. Lots of that day is very clear and specific. I know the feeling of that day was very similar to the day my mom died (shit, I guess 6 months later) - just kinda shell shock, the world is suddenly different, oh my god, what are we supposed to do, etc. The absolute shock of an enemy reaching into America and touching us like we hadn't been since the Brits burned the White House - shocking, incredible.

It's been 21 years. I think it's fair to say that our reaction was a bigger catastrophe than the event itself. What a fucking disaster. And man, from the MAGA dipshits in the Facebook community group I block who have twin tower page banners 60% of the time to the blue lives matter/antivaxxer schoolboard candidate folks across the street who put up a fucking 9/11 lawn flag a week ago - I'm so... what does 9/11 symbolize to these people? How are we remembering 9/11, and how should we? After 20 years, why is it such a symbol for people who want to end American democracy?

Our first was four months old that September eleventh. When she was in elementary school, I mentored a youngster who mourned his grandfather’s passing, and that his birthday was 9-11. 

MAGAts embracing 9/11 surprises me only in that those dumb fucks haven’t struck me as capable of such self awareness. 

Unlike R posters here. They are capable of making that link, but haven’t the balls to admit it.

I was home (home office) and happened to turn on CNN that morning (not something I normally do at that time) and saw the plane hit tower #2 live.  It was totally surreal and I got zero work done that day.  My heart runneth over for everyone on United 73.  Let's roll indeed.

the end of America. what a fucking disaster. Fuck me I miss the 90s.