Need new career to make decent $$$....making websites perhaps?

Okay folks. Hope I don't get negged for asking, but anyhow....

Im 42, and have had some crappy jobs in the service industry, and manufacturing industry. I would like a new career. Preferably making websites or otherwise being a computer whiz. Or HVAC or welding; I just need to make a lot of money. Nothing else in life is more important than money.

Where could someone like me train for a new career in such a field without having to go to school for another million years and without spending a fortune? I am not getting any younger. I am willing to move to any area of the world in which to pursue such a career. I lived in Austin for years, but for now I live up north.

I've been building websites for 20+ years and frankly it sucks. No one wants to pay for them, and there's always somebody that will do it cheaper.

There's several coding bootcamps around. Learn something like javascript along with vue/react/angular/whatever is new and shiny and you shouldn't have much of a problem getting a job making $40k to start and be at $100k in a few years if you work your ass off. 

For my two boys that aren't academically inclined I'm going to start teaching them to code so they don't necessarily have to go to college.

If they don't want to code the other thing I'm going to push them to is HVAC or electric. There are 6 month trade schools that will teach you want you need to know. Go work somewhere for a while and learn stuff, then branch out get your own truck, then more trucks and more people. Some of the richest people I know own electric or HVAC shops.

• Like 2

HVAC, electrical, plumbing, welding all seem to pay well.  And in some of these cases, the average age of the workers are in their 50s.  After you learn how to do it, buy out a current small business owner.   Or just pull in some bank as a worker and not worry about owning a business.  Nothing wrong with that.