"Add a Tip"

Ghost of LL

I don't think so. I'm tired of it as well. It's one thing when you're expressing doing something to further my enjoyment of your establishment. For instance, I get coffee beans at a local shop. I've been doing that since 2006. I will always tip them a dollar on a $13 bag of beans because they will grind them for me. I feel that's a fair trade for the extra work that employee has to do. Now when I go there, the ipad they hand me has percentages and they're all 18-25% options. If it were 10%, that's fine as that's close to what I normally spend. There is an option to put an other amount, so I will tap that and do the standard $1 I've always done. When I go with my kids, they want things like a muffin or a cookie. All things that are made well in advance and not hand crafted while we wait. So if I went with the 18-25% option, I'd be tipping on all of those items. That's ridiculous to me. I want everyone to have a good wage but that's just silly to expect the customer to add on that much extra money every time for something that's not exactly cheaply priced like a $5 cup of coffee or a $3 muffin. Yes, I'm paying for taste and convenience but that's baked into your initial price.  Also, am I expected to tip on the same bag of beans if they do nothing for me and I take them home and grind them myself? They aren't grabbing them for me. I do that in the walk-up area of the shop. They make these beans in massive batches so I'd imagine the person roasting the beans off site is getting a wage. Are those tips going to him or her?

Edited by mdmost
  • Hook 'Em 1

Same.  Call me old man yelling at clouds but I too refuse to tip for plain old counter service.